What’s resonated with me.

2 Apr

I think the most major effect that this class has produced in me is that it forced me to question my assumptions about people from their sense of style, and the images they portray. In my own experience, style was an all-powerful judge of your identity, and my rejection of it alienated me from my peers. When this happens, it’s easy to write off their actions as self-motivated and cruel, simple acts of malice intended to improve their own status among their peers. What has ultimately resonated with me in this class was the idea that I was not alone in this sensation, and those people I disliked were really just coping with the very same problems, albeit in a very different way. I try not to judge people according to their sense of style anymore, though I have been conditioned to through my public school experience. It ignores their side of the story.

Leave a Reply

