Stay Strong Staten Island

25 Feb

s_s08_RTR3ANMW

I have lived on Staten Island for 15 years now, and I have never felt the loyalty and unity of my home town before Hurricane Sandy. If there is one imagine I could preserve from the media today, I would preserve the imagines of every Staten Islander raising their hands and helping each other out. Thankfully, I was not affected by Hurricane Sandy, but I remember waking up with power the next day and seeing the damage that this horrific natural disaster left behind. Through the use of Twitter and Facebook, awareness spread quickly of every Islander’s needs and donations of food, clothing, blankets, toiletries, anything and everything that the affected needed were being sent and gathered and supplied everywhere. It was always said that “Staten Island is the forgotten borough” and we felt it during the weeks of Sandy, but we all banned together and helped each other put. I have never been so proud to call Staten Island my home after seeing everyone come together and support one another.

Leave a Reply

