Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone .. Diana Nunez

25 Feb

hurricane sandy

This was one of the pictures in an online article I read called Hurricane Sandy: After landfall, and I feel this picture is worth a thousand words.  This is queens after hurricane sandy. and by looking at this image one can’t help but feel so much emotion and distraught because someone or many literally didn’t have a home or anything to go back too.  I remember going back to work a little after the hurricane and one of my co workers ( who lives in far-rock queens) came in and just looked so down , so i went up to him and asked him whats wrong, he told me he lost everything, and I respond, what do you mean? He pulls out his phone and shows me a video of his neighborhood and literally I saw nothing and by nothing I mean everything was on the ground; destroyed.  He tells me he’s been wearing the same clothes for a week now.  I couldn’t help but feel so sorry and horrified by what he showed me.  Even though the media can be cruel, it can also show images like this and feel so grateful to be where you are and have somewhere to call home.  It can encourage people to help each other in times like and help rebuild.

3 Responses to “Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone .. Diana Nunez”

  1. anthonybynum February 25, 2013 at 1:55 am #

    This is so true. The only thing that bothers me is that the media chooses how long to keep these images in the public eye. There are still families recovering from this event but as time goes on their stories become less important to cover. I just wish there was a way to keep stories like this in the public eye

  2. ileanacancinos February 25, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    I have seen some many pictures and I’ve witnessed so many disturbing images in person when I volunteered in my home town in Staten Island, and you cannot even begin to fathom the terrible effects this storm left many families in. I understand that the media is showing the negative sides to the story, but we also have to remember the positives, and the articles of people helping each other out and the countless donations and endless work normal civilians and neighbors have put in after the affects of Sandy. That is the only positive way to look at this situation

  3. Evelyn ALmonte February 26, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    I was also very struck by Hurricane Sandy as one Cuny student was killed in Brooklyn by a fallen tree and some of my professors had to be evacuated from their homes which flooded during the storm. Mother nature’s force cannot be underestimated.

Leave a Reply

