The Decline in Reading (Esther Chera)

24 Feb

Image

 

There is an article online that discusses the decline of buying and reading books in the United States. Books, as discussed in lecture, are a form of media and the younger generations are reading less and less books. I think society and the media around us does not acknowledge reading. Therefore, people do not feel a need to read books. This shows that many people follow what the media portrays. People have to think on their own and not just follow what the media says. I wish to preserve this article to show how our society is defined by the media. 

 

Here is a link to the article: http://www.boston.com/news/nation/articles/2007/11/19/young_people_reading_a_lot_less/?page=full 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “The Decline in Reading (Esther Chera)”

  1. serracanca February 24, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

    This makes me think of the book we read, Fahrenheit 451!
    Seeing stuff like this makes me wonder if our society, in the tiniest of ways, could ever become a dystopia such as the fictional one we learned of in that story.

  2. saudia93 February 24, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

    Watching my younger cousins grow up in this day and age, I find it sad that the value of books is decreasing. Everything is becoming electronic; less effort. I even notice myself slowly neglecting to read books for pleasure during my free time because I’d rather catch up on new TV shows or spend unproductive time on Facebook.

  3. csetton10 February 25, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    I love reading and i always have. But I can see all around me that people have stopped reading because there are so busy occupying their time watching tv and playing video games. I know that the percentage of readers will only go down, and that is an extremely sad notion. We in the US have so much opportunity to educate ourselves, a luxury most dont have, and its upsetting when we dont take advantage of it.

  4. stefanievponce February 25, 2013 at 1:47 am #

    I believe that the content of what’s being read is also something to take into consideration. Magazines and novels are still very popular, but educational books are not being pushed by society as essential, popular culture is taking over and entertainment is seen as most important. Maybe the story in Fahrenheit 451 isn’t too far-fetched after all…

  5. jarede24 February 25, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    The decline in reading percentages can be directly proportional to the fact that technology is replacing it. Kids nowadays just want to play video games and watch televison. Reading is no longer as popular as it used to be, it is more often not even an option for someone to have as a passtime.

  6. dotts2000 February 25, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    Its true, we have too much new technology that replace the need to read. We do not take time anymore to enjoy a good book, we just google what we want to know. I had classes where students are not buying the book, they just read a synopsis of it online. I think people still read just not from printed paper but from an electronic device

  7. bchristy February 26, 2013 at 1:29 am #

    Well, fair points on the technology, but I also think that our declining attention spans and preference for immediate gratification is to blame. I mean, books take time to read. Not to mention effort. It’s all, “impress me in 30 sec or less or I get bored” and “what, words? what am I suppose to do with this crap?! Where are the pictures?!” ETC

Leave a Reply

