Natural Disaster Vs. Media (Julia Lin)

23 Feb
the night of hurricane Sandy & the line outside my house from the gas station

the night of hurricane Sandy & the line outside my house from the gas station

I was browsing my pictures in my phone & found this photo. I think it’s memorable due to the fact that it was from the night of Hurricane Sandy, when all the cars in NYC decided to line up by the gas station. The line extended all the way to my block. (gas station was a bit far) After seeing this picture again it made me wonder how easy it was for the newspapers and newscast to inform everyone to refill their tanks. Once they announce it, everyone in the east coast starts lining up for gas. Media can have a huge impact on everyone and every time there’s a natural disaster warning, one broadcast can lead to millions of people preparing for something that may not have been so terrifying. Yes Sandy was horrific, but there has been days when the newscast would warn citizens of hurricanes, and snow storms. Unfortunately, these natural disasters, at times, never really appear to be as deadly as the media can make them sound. I believe that the media can have people pulling cash out of their pockets faster than a blink of an eye with one broadcast that may seem harmful to the human race.

9 Responses to “Natural Disaster Vs. Media (Julia Lin)”

  1. col87 February 23, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Colleen Egan: Not only can the Media have people spending money they don’t have on storms that end up not being as serious as Hurricane Sandy but they can make people immune to it by hyping up storms and then they don’t happen. Before Hurricane Sandy hit and when it was still something the Media was warning people to leave certain areas, I heard more then a few people making jokes about how it was another false alarm since we had two or three big storm warnings before the one about Hurricane Sandy.

    I’m not sure of how this can be helped though when weather is still something that’s being worked on to better predict.

    • anthonybynum February 23, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Ironic, my sentiments exactly! I was typing my post which is exactly what you posted, but i feel your post articulated it clearer šŸ™‚

    • Evelyn Almonte February 23, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      I absolutely agree that natural disasters and other things are used to create an unnecessary need. Loved your Post.

  2. anthonybynum February 23, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    I can see your point, however there were many people that stayed in their houses along Coney Island and in the downtown area of Manhattan regardless of news reports to evacuate. I feel these people represent the smaller percentage of society that are fed up with media exaggeration and refuse to listen to news because they are aware of the constant lies and propaganda that is used. It is unfortunate that the reality of media has become so diluted that it is almost impossible to know when to believe and when not to what the media is telling.

  3. Evelyn Almonte February 23, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I absolutely agree that natural disasters and other things are manipulated to create an unneccessary need.

  4. michaelchuakong February 23, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    Media was made to reach and inform the general public. We never seem to be able to trust the weatherman do we? Maybe it’s some conspiracy for the government to get more dollars by urging people to prepare for a natural disaster. Now isn’t that something to think about. #crazypersontalking

  5. joshspring2013 February 24, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    I don’t think the media hypes up storms as a way to get people to spend money. I think it’s more of a “just in case this storm does get big, OUR STATION predicted it” type of thing. People remember the big storms and the stations that covered them the best or worst. On storms that don’t get huge, people blow it off as another false alarm, but when it turns big, stations then advertise bragging rights.

  6. nicklio February 24, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    Seeing this definitely hits home. I live on Staten Island, and along with many parts of NYC, we were hit incredibly hard. I don’t think the media hype was simply to squeeze the money from the fearful population. Even though it might not seem like it sometimes, but the people running the media are people, too. I’m sure they were just trying to do their part to help make things better in their own way.

    • julialin21 February 24, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      I think they exaggerate the areas that should prepare for natural disasters. The area I live in was not affected yet they stated “this area” in their broadcasts. But I do see your point.

Leave a Reply

